AU Learning Services Conference

November 13, 2002

The Learning Services Conference took place Oct. 25 and 26 in Edmonton. Lori Oddson, director of Collaboration and Learning Services, welcomed participants to the event. Together with Dominique Abrioux, Lori announced the awards to recognize long-time service to AU.

Recipients of the 5-year awards were Lois Browne, Linda Kerr, and Rebecca Heartt; 10-year: Jayne Gackenback, Elaine Schow, and Terry Taylor; 15-year: Oliver Franke and Helen Onderka; 20-year: Ghislaine Campbell, Ravi Kumar, Lorraine Laville, David Otto, and Margaret Keene; and 25-year: Carole Benner and Natalie Sharpe.

Dominique Abrioux presented the President’s Award for Tutoring/Mentoring Excellence to Dr. Izak Paul (undergraduate area). This was the first time the award was presented, and Dominique noted that AU and its students are incredibly fortunate to have such a cadre of tutors. Three criteria were used in selecting the recipients: sustained achievements, demonstrated impact, and evidence of innovation in the delivery of subject matter.

Since he began with AU in 1986 as a biology tutor, Izak has tutored more than 2000 students, many of whom have appreciated his efforts as their comments attest: “helpful and approachable,” “a valuable resource,” and “excellent support, feedback, and encouragement.”

A second winner, Carol MacKinnon (graduate area) was also announced. She could not attend the conference but she will be recognized at a future event.