AU Student Profile – Jody Waddle

Where are you from and where do you live now?

I was born and raised in Lethbridge, Alberta, got married & moved to Medicine Hat, Alberta, then moved to Taber, Alberta to have kids and after another move, we now live in Okotoks, Alberta : hmmm : I must like Alberta!

What do you like about where you live?

Besides the fact that I can see the mountains while driving through the town, it has a great sense of community and it’s very welcoming. I love it here.

Are you married and do you have children?

This August will be 8 years for me and my husband and we have 2 beautiful daughters.

How do you feel about distance Education and what do you like best about it?

When my husband and I were first looking into sending me to post-secondary school, we looked at traditional university first and figured out that it would cost us in excess of $1800 per month for me to do university that way (that’s including daycare for 2 kids). So, when I came across the AU website, it was like a Godsend. It really is the only choice for me at this point so I find it to be extremely wonderful (is that grammatically correct?). I feel that AU is ahead of the times and will be paving the way for universities of the future.

What program are you in and what courses are you taking this term?

I’m getting my BA in Administration concentrating in Human Resources and am currently finishing LBST 200 (a history course that I’m not fond of, and I have MUSI 267, EDUC 310, and COMM 243 waiting in the wings.

What has been your favorite course and why?

Most people are going to think I’m insane, but my ECON 247 & 248 courses were my favorite. Granted I only have 6 courses under my belt so there isn’t a lot to choose from as of yet, they were still my faves. I had great tutors with both of them, especially Ernie Jacobson : although his writing made it hard to read comments!

Have you traveled? And if so, where to?

I went to Greece during high school for a school trip. I would love to go back and view the things I was too hung-over to view the first time around.

What are your plans for the future? Goals, ambitions, dreams…?

Right now I’m taking it one step at a time and don’t plan on making huge plans for the future besides to get this degree under my belt.

What is your favorite thing to do, pastime?

Well, thanks to Tamra, the Voice editor, writing has been taking up my mind lately so I’ve been searching up topics for that. Other than that I’m a really outdoorsy kind of girl and have just been getting antsy to get our trailer out to go camping, hiking, biking in the mountains.

What is your biggest fear?

That with The Post Secondary Learning Act (Bill 43) in effect as of March 18th, 2004, tuition will be allowed to be raised to the point that my university degree will be out of reach for me financially.

Is there anything you would like us to know about you?

I’ve got wild blonde curly hair, I’m wonky, have a wild sense of humor, I’m an information junky, love baseball, hate the fact that a lot of people don’t use signal lights and am just an all around fun gal. : that’s about it!

Have you been profiled in the Voice yet? If not, contact It’s fun and easy, and you’ll get a free Voice logo coffee mug!

%d bloggers like this: