Scholarships & Awards


Sponsored by: Alberta Health and Wellness and Alberta Scholarship Programs.

Purpose: To improve the health status of Aboriginal Albertans by increasing the number of aboriginals working in Alberta’s health system.

Value: Determined by the Selection Committee.

Eligibility: Applicants must be Indian, Inuit, or Métis and have been living in Alberta for the last three years and plan to enrol full-time in a health field at the college, technical institute or university level.

Selection: Students are selected on the basis of financial need, previous academic record, program of study, involvement in the aboriginal community and experience in the health care field. The selection committee will also review the applicant’s health career goals.

Application forms also are available from the Student Awards Office at Alberta’s post-secondary institutions, and from Alberta Scholarship Programs.

Deadline: May 15

Disbursement: Applicants will be notified of the results of the competition in July. Successful candidates can expect to receive their award in November after Alberta Scholarship Programs confirms full-time enrollment in post-secondary studies.

Audience: Aboriginal Students, Graduate Students, Post-Secondary



Please carefully read the eligibility criteria. Some restrictions apply.
Deadline: June 30, 2006.
Fields of study: All disciplines are eligible.

Eligibility: The program is restricted to universities in the Western Provinces in the year 2006;
Applications are by nomination only. Each university may nominate one candidate;
Candidates must have completed the first year of their first undergraduate degree program in a Canadian educational institution which is a member or affiliated to a member of the Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada (AUCC); Applicants must be enrolled full-time and be entering the second year of their first undergraduate degree; Candidates must have Canadian citizenship or permanent residency.
Value: $9,000 CDN

Number available: Four
Duration: Tenable for up to three consecutive years or until first degree is obtained.
Eligible institutions: Any Canadian educational institution which is a member, or affiliated to a member of the AUCC.