Minds We Meet—Lisa Bennett

Lisa Bennett, originally from the UK, moved just outside of Calgary with her husband and young son. She is currently enrolled in the Bachelor of Health Administration program and is four courses away from finishing. This is her story.

Can you give us a little bit of background information about yourself? Who are you? Where do you live, where do you come from?

My name’s Lisa, I have been married for twelve years and we have a nine-year-old son. We are originally from the United Kingdom, but we gained permanent residence to Canada in 2012. We then received our citizenship in 2018. We are now dual citizens of both the UK and Canada. I have worked in the medical field since I was nineteen years old and thoroughly enjoy my work. We live just outside of Calgary in Alberta and we love living here so much.

Where in the UK are you from? Why did you move to Canada?

I’m originally from Leeds but moved to London. We moved to Canada for better life for us and our child. My husband was offered a position over here as an electrician, so we moved with just nine suitcases between the three of us. We became fully fledged Canadian citizens last year, so we are dual citizens of both the UK and Canada 🙂

What program are you enrolled in? How far are you in your program?

I am enrolled in the Bachelor of Health Administration program. I am loving the program and have enjoyed all the courses. I have 4 courses left to complete.

Describe the path that led you to AU. What was it that made you realize you wanted to go back to school, and what pushed you into the program you’ve signed up for?

I have always enjoyed a medical background and wanted to further my career by going back to school and getting my brain working again. I love being able to study at my own pace. Having the support from my husband was amazing and he is super proud of my dedication and achievements since I began at AU.

What do you do like to do when you’re not studying?

I love camping. My family and I do a lot of camping each year. I also love to read and have a huge collection of books, which I brought from the UK, and have added to it often. My family and I love hiking as we have two dogs (Saint Bernard and Bernese Mountain Dog). We just love to be outdoors and active.

What are some of your favorite places you have gone camping?

We recently just came back from Boulton Creek in the Rocky Mountains. The place was amazing, so quiet, so much wildlife. We were lucky enough to have a grizzly mamma bear and two cubs nearby and a moose with two new babies. It is just so peaceful and a great getaway. We enjoy staying in the Rockies as it is so breathtakingly beautiful.

What are some of your favorite books you have read from your collection?

I love reading, I enjoy crime books such as Patricia Cornwall and Karin Slaughter; however, I recently read the entire collection of House of Night, which were amazing! I would highly recommend these books. I love the other extreme authors, such as Sophie Kinsella and Emily Giffin.

What are your plans for this education once you finish? How does it fit in with where you want to go?

I am hoping to get a position in a newly opened chemotherapy and cancer services building.

Who in your life had the greatest influence on your desire to learn?

My husband and my son. I am at that stage in my life where I can do what I want to do and work toward something I can truly enjoy.

Any advice for people who are on the fence about going back to school, or feel like it is too late to go back?

Absolutely do it, you will be surprised at how much you enjoy it. The tutors have been amazing, and I have really enjoyed the courses. It is never too late to go back and fulfil your dreams.

Describe your experience with online learning so far. What do you like? Dislike?

I love online learning, as it is laid back, you work at your own pace, and I can have a family and continue working.

What has been your most memorable courses at AU?

I have seriously loved the criminal justice courses, they are so informative and enjoyable to complete

How do you find communications with your course tutors?

Generally good. Some tutors take long than some to respond, but overall, I have had no complaints and their responses are detailed and very helpful

What is your biggest pet peeve, if you have one?

People who cannot follow basic road safety rules.

What famous person, past or present, would you like to have lunch with?

Freddie Mercury, the guy is a legend

Describe the proudest moment in your life.

Having my son. He is the most wonderful and perfect little person and I am proud to call him mine.

Describe one thing that distinguishes you from most other people.

I have a ginormous heart and will help anyone if I can. Sadly, some people can take advantage of that.

What is the most valuable lesson you have learned in life?

Take one day at a time and enjoy every single second.

Have you traveled? Where has life taken you so far?

I have traveled quite a lot; mainly European countries having lived in the UK for most of my life. Canada is now our home and I wouldn’t change it for anything. Best thing we ever did.

What (non-AU) book are you reading now?

Revealed from the House of Night series.

Would you recommend the House of Night series? What do you like or dislike?

1000% recommend. I have the entire collection plus the additional series relating to the other world too, there is approximately twenty books in the series, and they are so gripping. I love books that you have to keep reading and cannot put down.

%d bloggers like this: